h1

I dreamt, marvelous error!

December 5, 2009

Last night as I was sleeping,
I dreamt, marvelous error!-
that a spring was breaking out inside my heart.
I said: Along which secret aqueduct,
Oh water, are you coming to me,
water of a new life that I have never drunk?

Last night as I was sleeping,
I dreamt, marvelous error!-
that I had a beehive here inside my heart.
And the golden bees were making white combs and sweet honey from my old failures.

Last night as I was sleeping,
I dreamt, marvelous error!-
that a fiery sun was giving light here inside my heart.
It was fiery because I felt warmth as from a hearth,
and sun because it gave light and brought tears to my eyes.

Last night as I was sleeping,
I dreamt, marvelous error!-
I dreamt that it was God that I had here inside my heart.

 from Times Alone: Selected Poems by Antonio Machado, translated by Robert Bly

The Melissa Garden: a honeybee sanctuary

Antonio Machado at Poem Hunter.

2 comments

  1. This is one of my favourite Machado poems. I especially love this gorgeous imagery — “golden bees were making white combs and sweet honey from my old failures”. Be it so!


  2. Oh! I love this poem, especially the “bee verse”. I first read it at a very difficult time in my life and the imagery of those white combs was a light in the darkness. Glad to have found you, along with the bees 🙂



Comments are closed.

