h1

From Over the Rainbow

December 16, 2009

The Summer Solstice approaches, summer stone-fruits are abundant in the supermarkets, and it is almost Summer here in Terra Australis by Nature’s reckoning; although Man in his arrogant vainglory declares that Summer actually started on the First of December.  Pah!

Today, Wednesday, we are expecting the mercury to reach 39 deg. Celsius: our hottest day since Black Saturday (February 7), when Victoria was devastated by bushfires.

I am fortunate to live within a gentle amble of a beautiful bayside beach of a capital city formerly known as Bearbrass and yesterday, when the mercury was a pleasant 26 deg. Celsius, I noted the wonderful array of human vessels on display from Winter white to the deep mocha of the tanning salons.

I noted the nubile young women in their itty-bitty polka-dot bikinis and the womanly curved older women in their modest one-pieces. The young men in board shorts with waxed chests and gym-defined six packs and the old men gloriously furred and just not giving two-hoots in their ancient budgie-smugglers.  Then the kiddies delightfully unselfconscious yet slipped into T-shirts, slapped up with sunscreen and slopping around in hats, chasing the waves and being chased back.

Such is Aussie beach culture of the early 21st Century; the specte of skin cancer looms and everybody is sun-aware, sun-anxious and gratefully, still sun-loving.

It’s almost summer
And I can almost feel that sweet sunshine
Pourin’ out this heart of mi-i-i-i-i-i-ine
Ooh-ooh-ooh-ooh-ooh

Yes it’s almost summer
And I will spend each week day slowly fryin’
I can’t wait, I can’t wait for the summerti-i-ime
Yeah summerti-i-i-ime

Livin’ and lovin’ life’s so damn easy
When days are sunny and skies are blue-ue
And dancin’ all night, some parties till the daylight
Drink Tequila Sunrise with the morning dew
And you-ou-ou my lady
I’m makin’ love in the sand while the surf keeps time

I can’t wait, I can’t wait, I can’t wait – summertime
Ooh, summerti-ime

Livin’ and lovin’ life’s so damn easy
When days are sunny and skies are blue
Dancin’ all night, some parties till the daylight
Drink Tequila Sunrise with the morning dew
A-and you-ou-ou, my lady
We’re makin’ love in the sand while the surf keeps time

I can’t wait, I can’t wait, I can’t wait
I can’t wait, I can’t wait, I can’t wai-ait
I can’t wait, don’t be late
For the summerti-i-ime

Ooh-ooh summertime
Yes the summerti-ime
Ooh summerti-i-i-i-ime

It’s Almost SummerBilly Thorpe (1946-2007)

The music of Billy Thorpe and the Aztecs was the Summer soundtrack of my halycon days in the 70s.  If memory serves me correct, Billy did a nationwide tour back then called “Lock Up Your Daughters” and then a couple of decades later, toured again, with the cheeky slogan “Lock Up Your Mothers”.

Aaah….a cup of water from sweet Mnemosyne.

One comment

  1. “Lock up your mothers” — LOL! At least he had a sense of humour about himself! Enjoy the beautiful weather and the coming summer solstice.



Comments are closed.

