h1

Seven x Rumi

December 23, 2009

“Sufism”, writes Llewellyn Vaughan-Lee, “is suited to those who need to realize their relationship with God as a love affair, who need to be drawn by the thread of love and longing back to their Beloved.”

Rumi’s Seven Pieces of Advice reflect the high level of inner purity that Sufis strive for.

In generosity and healing others, be like a river
In compassion and grace, be like sun.
In concealing others’ fault be like night
In anger and fury be like dead.
In modesty and humility be like earth.
In tolerance be like a sea.
Either exist as you are or be as you look.

That last line sure is a humdinger.  When I Googled it, the search came up with the lyrics to Pink Floyd’s “Wish You Were Here”.  The mystic’s plot thickens.

So, so you think you can tell Heaven from Hell,
blue skies from pain.
Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail?
A smile from a veil?
Do you think you can tell?
And did they get you to trade your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?
Cold comfort for change?
And did you exchange a walk on part in the war for a lead role in a cage?
How I wish, how I wish you were here.
We’re just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year,
Running over the same old ground.
What have you found? The same old fears.
Wish you were here.
// //

2 comments

  1. I love Rumi. Never been a big fan of Pink Floyd, but I know others are. When I moved to Edmonton, I encountered Sufis for the first time. A group of them facilitated the local Dances of Universal Peace group. Interesting bunch.

    “Either exist as you are or be as you look.” He always cuts like a knife.


  2. I, too, sigh with complete adoration and am struck to the core by every word Rumi wrote. That last line is intense. One of my Christmas gifts to myself is a collection of his works and I also drew a large picture for my mom-in-law with a quote from Rumi, in the hope of spreading the love for this most insightful of mystic poets 🙂

    Don’t know how you do it, but your postings never fail to be _just_ what I need on any particular day. Thank you.



Comments are closed.

