h1

Lessons in Discernment #1

January 13, 2010

Lesson:  Never buy anything advertised on the back of a comic-book.

Astronaut John Glenn took 400 million “Amazing Sea-Monkeys” into space with him in 1998. 

Harold von Braunhut (31 March 1926 – 28 November 2003) was an American mail-order marketer and inventor, most famous as the creator and seller of both the Amazing Sea-Monkeys and the X-Ray Specs.

Harry (shakes head), I trust is languishing in a Circle of Hell reserved for grown-ups who sucker trusting and gullible kids.  See ya in 30 or so years mate, I’ve got a bridge you might like to buy!

2 comments

  1. Ha ha, did you buy the Sea-Monkeys or the X-ray Specs? Or both?


  2. Just the Sea-Monkeys. I do have a memory of puzzling about the morality and ethics of creatures that ‘looked’ human being sold and purchased, and that there was something ‘not quite right’ here. My curiosity got the better of me.



Comments are closed.

