h1

The Perilous Realm

January 31, 2010

Greenmantle

For the last month, this cover art image from Charles de Lint’s book “Greenmantle” has been strong in my memory.  It is the only book of de Lint’s that I have read and I purchased it on the strength of the evocative cover art and the blurb on the back of the book:

Not far from the city there is an ancient wood, forgotten by the modern world, where Mystery walks in the moonlight. He wears the shape of a stag, or a goat, or a horned man wearing a cloak of leaves. He is summoned by the music of the pipes or a fire of bones on Midsummer’s Evening. He is chased by the hunt and shadowed by the wild girl. When he touches your dreams, your life will never be the same again.

You could say that reading this novel of urban fantasy was my introduction to the world of Celtic mythology and Cernunnos, the Horned God; as well as a genre of contemporary fantasy writing that I did not know Charles de Lint is credited as pioneering.

Sadly, my local library only carries two of his books and I’ll be skedaddling along tomorrow to borrow out “Spirits in the Wires”.

Fantasy writing is a genre that I am futzing around with, or rather returning to, because in my school years I wrote a lot of short stories with magical realism and mythological elements. 

I even wrote and illustrated a book of poetry and short stories in Year 5 at Primary School.  Gosh, I self-published my first book at the tender age of 11.  A book, I might add, was promptly pinched as soon as it appeared on the shelves of the school library and never seen again. 

Pretty picture, no?

2 comments

  1. Yeah, it’s a super illustration. I’d read the book on the strength of that blurb too! Good luck with your fantasy writing!


  2. You could get lost in that picture, it has such depth… Isn’t it incredible to think back to primary school and realise how effortlessly and fearlessly you created – whether in writing or visual arts or music – and then… what happened? High school. No time for silly things like free thought and expression. Serious learning only, got to matriculate with the highest score! I am also rediscovering my lost abilities. Here’s to honouring our younger, truer selves!



Comments are closed.

