h1

Time and Bride

January 31, 2010

I am coming! I am coming!

I am coming through! 

Coming across the divide to you. 

In this moment of unity 

Feeling an ecstasy

To be here, to be now

At last I am free –

Yes – at last, at last

To be free of the past.

And of a future that beckons me.

I am coming! I am coming!

Here I am!

Neither a woman, nor a man –

We are joined, we are one

With a human face.

I am on earth

And I am in outer space

I’m being born and I am dying.

 

Lyrics:  Sally Potter, et al., “Coming,” Orlando Soundtrack (London: Virgin Music, London Records, 1992

2 comments

  1. I think it’s time for me to rent that movie and watch it again. I saw it in the theatre when it was first released, but apart from its basic gender-bending plot, the only thing I really remember about it is Tilda Swinton. I remember the book better, actually.


  2. A direly under-seen and under-appreciated movie! Owned the book, but never read it. I knew I recognised the words when I started reading, but it wasn’t until I saw the attribution that I realised why I was singing them 🙂 It always gives me shivers. Now I MUST see it again!



Comments are closed.

