h1

The Howell Owl

February 24, 2010

Paradox

How wealthy I am
in such a lack

how rich
in the specific of poverty

I have everything this day
but you to share it with

and so it seems I have nothing –
yet, knowing such ever-brimming loss
places me beyond my peers of need,
somehow
it is like having all of never
into which to set a now.
~ Alice O. Howell

Jungian psychologist, Alice O. Howell, the author of “The Dove in the Stone: Finding the Sacred in the Commonplace”, “The Web in the Sea: Jung, Sophia and the Geometry of the Soul” and “The Heavens Declare: Jungian Symbols in Astrology”.

Alice authors a very interesting blog, Credo, that I have found during some random blog-hopping and at the age of 87, this Crone has much wisdom to impart.

In 1944, Alice began a serious study of astrology as Marc Edmund Jone’s youngest student and in 2009 she invited The Mountain Astrologer to interview her, which can be read here.    

2 comments

  1. Wow! Now _there’s_ someone to emulate. I hope to still be blogging and exploring life so vigorously at 87 too.


  2. What a beautiful poem! In paradox there is always truth.



Comments are closed.

