h1

Sit. Stay. Fetch. Heal.

March 11, 2010

I’ve been having a lot of fun futzing with the free charts available at Astrodienst, teaching myself some  astrology ropes, fine-tuning my ears to the music of the spheres and drawing a whole lot of threads together. 

Being a trivial pursuit artist, I love that there is an asteroid named Monty Python and that in my natal chart, it snuggles up against Chiron in the 7th-house – laughter is the best medicine.

Over the years, I have read an awful lot about Chiron and the archetype of the Wounded Healer, which is prominent in Caroline Myss’ teachings.  It is certainly a universal archetype that has been particularly strong for me, being a natal Chiron opposite natal Pluto sort of gal.  Astrologist Barbara Hand Clow writes:

Chiron opposite Pluto is the full expression of both planets. Pluto is prodded into the depths of exploring the subconscious mind, and Chiron continually brings in the higher self to help Pluto keep going… this person is incapable of living a simple or trivial life.”

Meeeeehhhhhh ….  

As  it’s my birthday next week and I am in my Chiron Return years (48-52), I checked out my Solar Return chart, which is a *cough* powerful astrological forecasting tool that reveals the themes likely to be encountered from one birthday to the next.

Goody gum-drops!  My 9th house is jam-packed with a stellium of six planets, and Pluto squares five of them, which apparently really sucks.   The Sabian Symbol for my Solar Return Pluto is Capricorn 6 – A dark archway and ten logs at the bottom, which just adds salt to the Hounded Wealer.

Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a logjam because when life gives you lemons, drink Tequila. 

And within that small jest, lies the solution – for me at least – in taking the sting out of the tails of these persnickety, prickly, Plutonian processes.

Tequila is made from the agave plant.  Agave is a flower essence produced by Desert Alchemy, who are one of a few producers of vibrational remedies that I have no qualms recommending.  I have been using their essences for the last 15-16 years , especially their Celebration of Womanhood kit.

Yes, indeedy, thrill-seekers, Agave is just the pooper-scooper essence I need to ameliorate the five-fold dumping Pluto is doing in my lovely 9th-house stellium. 

The “late bloomer’s essence”, Agave helps you own your level of mastery and manifest your talents and strength.

Harmonizing Qualities

  • indicated at a time when much inner work has been done and now the time has come for bringing the energy of your deep inner connection out into daily life;
  • it embodies the universal principle of “owning your level” of mastery and becoming comfortable in that process;
  • knowing and trusting your great inner strength and allowing it to manifest and be integrated into daily life;
  • letting go and trusting;
  • the “late bloomer’s” essence;
  • the ability to comfortably express your inner reality and beauty;

So that’s Pluto sorted, yet Chiron is still lobbing the Wounded Healer energies for Pluto to hit-for-a-six or bowl-a-maiden-over, to use sporting metaphors.  (Hmm…picking up the cricket channel).

I digress . . .

The fable of Androcles and the Lion is more appealing and energetically, vibrationally, psyche-ally – a far more useful story of healing than that of Chiron and his perpetual bloody wound.  Time to put this old warhorse out to pasture to contentedly graze on clover for the rest of it’s mythological life; which is forever. 

Pulling the Thorn

A slave named Androcles once escaped from his master and fled to the forest. As he was wandering about there he came upon a Lion lying down moaning and groaning. At first he turned to flee, but finding that the Lion did not pursue him, he turned back and went up to him. As he came near, the Lion put out his paw, which was all swollen and bleeding, and Androcles found that a huge thorn had got into it, and was causing all the pain. He pulled out the thorn and bound up the paw of the Lion, who was soon able to rise and lick the hand of Androcles like a dog.

Then the Lion took Androcles to his cave, and every day used to bring him meat from which to live. But shortly afterwards both Androcles and the Lion were captured, and the slave was sentenced to be thrown to the Lion, after the latter had been kept without food for several days.

The Emperor and all his Court came to see the spectacle, and Androcles was led out into the middle of the arena. Soon the Lion was let loose from his den, and rushed bounding and roaring towards his victim. But as soon as he came near to Androcles he recognised his friend, and fawned upon him, and licked his hands like a friendly dog.

The Emperor, surprised at this, summoned Androcles to him, who told him the whole story. Whereupon the slave was pardoned and freed, and the Lion let loose to his native forest. Gratitude is the sign of noble souls.

 

The moment I let go of it was
The moment I got more than I could handle
The moment I jumped off of it was
The moment I touched down

How about no longer being masochistic
How about remembering your divinity
How about unabashedly bawling your eyes out
How about not equating death with stopping

Thank you India
Thank you providence
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you nothingness
Thank you clarity
Thank you thank you silence
~ lyrics Alanis Morissette

One comment

  1. Ply that agave essence! I’ve always loved the story of Androcles and the Lion.



Comments are closed.

