h1

Lucila in The Sky with Diamonds

June 21, 2010

 

NGC 3324 – Gabriela Mistral Nebula

Astrophotography by Brad Moore

Gabriela Mistral was a Chilean poet who had the great honour of winning a Nobel prize for her invaluable work. An even greater uncalled for honour was bestowed upon her, which was having her portrait be imprinted amongst the heavens.

Her face is the outline of NGC 3324 and her face can be easily missed.  The nebula is appropriately a feminine pinkish colour and the brightest part contains two stars that ionize the nebula’s gas. The nebula is virtually attached to the upper right portion of the Eta Carinae Nebula.

CREED

I believe in my heart that when

The wounded heart sunk within the depth of God sings

It rises from the pond alive

As if new-born.

 

I believe in my heart that what I wring from myself

To tinge life’s canvas

With red of pallid hue, thus cloaking it

In luminous garb. 

“Tis a wonderful Southern Solstice gift to know who my violet hour muse has been…………… 

One comment

  1. Beautiful poem!



Comments are closed.

