h1

She’s coming around……again

July 23, 2010

I first heard this song back in the early 90’s, in an episode of Northern Exposure, where Shelley is pregnant and fearful of the changes coming towards here. She goes into the forest and the Goddess comes to her.

My life, at the time, was filled with fear. I was housebound with agoraphobia, in the early years of marriage that had already died, and because of my panic attacks, had had to relinquish my studies in Naturopathy, as well as my income-producing job. I could not have felt more defeated, more guilty, more helpless, more powerless, more confused.  It was a really nasty place.

When I watched this episode of Northern Exposure, the beauty of the imagery and the sublime lyrics of this Hymn to Her, it touched me deeply yet I was far too disconnected, too fearful, to know what I now know: the Goddess was dialling my number. Entreating me, singing to me to start making the reconnection with my sacred feminine soul.

I heard her from a distance. I went back to sleep. I have heard her in the years since…..I have gone back to sleep.  I hear her now. 

I am coming around….again.   I have found Ariadne’s thread that has been hidden in the labryinth of my history which had been sealed under the clingwrap of patriarchy.  With a  Black Moon Lilith corridor  in my Twelfth House of the unconscious, I am gaining a whole new paradigm on the forces that converged in my psyche that manifested as Panic Disorder with Agoraphobia.  

Let me inside you,
Into your room
I’ve heard it’s lined
With the things you don’t show

Lay me beside you,
Down on the floor
I’ve been your lover,
From the womb to the tomb

I dress as your daughter,
When the moon becomes round
You be my mother,
When everything’s gone

And she will always carry on
Something is lost,
But something is found
They will keep on speaking her name
Some things change,
Some stay the same

Keep beckoning to me,
From behind that closed door
The maid and the mother,
And the crone that’s grown old

I hear your voice,
Coming out of that hole
I listen to you,
And I want some more
I listen to you,
And I want some more

She will always carry on
Something is lost,
But something is found
They will keep on speaking her name
Some things change,
Some stay the same

She will always carry on
Something is lost,
But something is found
They will keep on speaking her name
Some things change,
Some stay the same
Let me inside you,
Into your room
I’ve heard it’s lined
With the things you don’t show

Lay me beside you,
Down on the floor
I’ve been your lover,
From the womb to the tomb

I dress as your daughter,
When the moon becomes round
You be my mother,
When everything’s gone

And she will always carry on
Something is lost,
But something is found
They will keep on speaking her name
Some things change,
Some stay the same

She will always carry on
Something is lost,
But something is found
They will keep on speaking her name
Some things change,
Some stay the same

And she will always carry on
Something is lost,
But something is found
They will keep on speaking her name
Some things change,
Some stay the same

 

Hymn to Her – lyrics The Pretenders 

2 comments

  1. I love this song too! The Goddess will keep on calling your name until you listen. Each time will be more and more insistent, until you listen and understand. Once you finally listen, then She’ll rock your world! That’s been my experience. Blessings to you on the path.


  2. I really loved this song at the time & had sort of forgotten about it…. the meaning was totally lost on me then & confess til you pointed it out… I’ve never heard it for ages but the energy of it must have been working away all the time!



Comments are closed.

