h1

Perimenopause: The Reverse Cycle

November 24, 2010
hall.jpg

The R.J. Brady Hall

1973. 

My first year in High School.

 A watershed year. 

 History, English, Art, Music, Needlework, Geography.

I can still remember the thrill of hearing the names Tigris-Euphrates, Mesopotamia, and the term Cradle of Civilization.

1973. 

 A year of stupendous awakenings on so many levels; some I am only now beginning to integrate completely.

1973. 

The last year before I reached menarche.

2011.

The last year before I reach menopause………?

I love the symmetry that punctuates my life. Semi-colons, commas and periods.

 Especially the motto of Reservoir High School and the deep resonance it contains for me now:

Receive to Give

 

Praise and Respect to

 R.J. Brady,

 Principal,

Reservoir High School,

1956-1976

who quoted Tennyson to little bastards Philistines

 

Edwardes Lake overflow, Reservoir 1947

Though much is taken, much abides; and though
We are not now that strength which in the old days
Moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are,
One equal-temper of heroic hearts,
Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.

~ Ulysses, a poem by Alfred Lord Tennyson

