h1

Correspondences

March 4, 2011

Image Credit: The Housewives’ Tarot, A Tarot Blog

“Behold, a new spark of energy to begin your next project! You hold the power to dust away the old and start anew. When the Ace of Wands appears in a reading, it speaks of new ventures and journeys or suggests that it’s time to do a little spring/fall cleaning. Grab that Pledge and get to work!”

The Correspondences of the 5 Stages of the Soul with the 5 Stages of Cleaning

1. The Call  (soul); Optimism (cleaning)

This isn’t that bad. I can totally do this. I’ll put some peppy music on, pull my hair back, push up my sleeves. I’ll bet I can get this done in 2 hours, tops. I am good!

2. The Search (soul); Devastation (cleaning)

MY. GOD. There’s no end to the mess! Who am I kidding? I can’t do this I can’t do this I can’t do this. Where did it all come from? Where do I put it? Why do I have one red shoelace? Why am I keeping every birthday card I’ve ever gotten? Ewww–why is there so much dust under the bed? This is horrible. HORRIBLE! The end is not near! What do I do? What is to become of me? Panic! PANIC!

3.The Struggle (soul);  Avoidance (cleaning)

Okay, breathe. I’ll just take a little break. I need to detox. I’m hungry–I should eat lunch. I’ll be more motivated to clean once I’m fed. Maybe I’ll turn the tv on while I’m eating. I don’t want to eat alone, it will be a nice little bit of company. Oh, and the dogs probably need walked. I’ll just eat a little something, watch a little something, and walk the dogs. All necessary.

A cat called Socks

4.The Breakthrough (soul);  Guilt (cleaning)

Oh no–it HASN’T been 2 hours, has it? What am I doing? I should have been cleaning this whole time! I’m so bad! I can’t stick to anything! I said I would be done by now–I’ve wasted time! I can’t do anything else now–this is hanging over my head. Bad Bad Bad!

5. The Return (soul); Resourcefulness (cleaning)

I’ll just jam things under the bed. Yeah…nobody’s going to look under the bed. And the closet! I’ll put everything in the closet and close the door! Piles! I’ll make piles! They look neater than everything just spread out everywhere….maybe it will look like my piles are part of a system. What are cupboards and drawers and closets for, if not to hide all this crap?

References

Witty commentary on The 5 Stages of Cleaning found at Oh My Words!

