h1

Miller Time (I)

March 29, 2011

George Miller; lashed and splashed

Image Credit: Australia Greek Reporter

In the process of sorting my squirrel-hoard of magazines and images, I came across pages of a print interview that Australian film-director (Dr) George Miller gave back in 1995……

O the shock!  The horror!  I haz stuff squirreled from 1995?!?!  As if turning 50 wasn’t a jolt up the date…

One of the dangers inherent in sorting through hoards of paper with words and pictures on them, is the siren call to stop and read , slowing down the whole collating into new cachelets process ~ which is probably what happened back in 1995. (I dunno, I’m taking a wild guess here).

In 1995, when I was 34, I do know I was looking at the pages and images I had pulled out of magazines in the genre of Better Homes & Gardens, Home Beautiful, Your Garden and then there were the recipes.  I’d been pulling them since 1973 from the Family Circle, along with umpteen hundreds of craft articles.

Somewhere in here there is an intersection between OCD and a shamanic process of dreaming a future life into being.  Visionhoarding before vision boards became the flavour-du-jour in the New Age Candy Store.

Visionhoarding.

That’s my word in this context. If you use it, say you found it here or else I’ll send my squirrel. His name is Vito.

This early vision, a real Martyr Stewart deal, revolved around: Husband. House. Garden.  But I digress………..

George, if you are not a fan, was born in Chinchilla, Queensland to Greek parents. A chinchilla is another of nature’s cute little fuzzybutts; a crepuscular rodent, which sounds like something ya should put cream on, ya know…..

I’m just saying..

Image Credit: Routing by Rumor

Anyways, George’s parents were from Kythera and it was between the island of Kythera and Crete, that in 1900 the Antikythera Mechanism was found by sponge-divers.

That’s sponge-divers not Sponge Pants Bob…

The Antikythera Mechansim

Hmm....I have a Handy Home Tip that might clean this up

Image Credit: Archeology News Network

Now, you would think that Georgie would  have a lightbulb moment and make a movie about this crustaceous lump of antiquity, but no………he’s planning on making a futuristic version of the Odyssey with Brad Pitt.

George.  Siriusly. Your next bald-headed statue is  closer to home…………

Just in case George doesn’t read my blog, here’s a short film that has been made:

The Antikythera Mechanism in Lego

Maybe I’ll have to write the book so George can pay me squillions for the film-rights.

Yup.

Now that’s a vision!

“This device is just extraordinary, the only thing of its kind. The design is beautiful, the astronomy is exactly right. The way the mechanics are designed just makes your jaw drop. Whoever has done this has done it extremely carefully … in terms of historic and scarcity value, I have to regard this mechanism as being more valuable than the Mona Lisa.”

~ Professor Michael Edmunds, upon the most recent study of the Antikythera Mechanism.

Coming Soon to a Blog Near You: Miller Time (II)

