h1

Neptune: trapped by archetypes

April 8, 2011

I’m not another cinderella
Waitin’ for a Rockafella
If the shoe don’t fit, then that’s it
I don’t need a storyteller
~ Shakaya

Image Credit: Freeonlineserver

Trapped by Archetypes

Researchers have found that our minds naturally create narratives around the facts of our lives, and the way we tell our personal stories strongly influences how we see ourselves as well as how we behave.

None of us start out as pessimists. In fact, most of us once believed that we could enjoy a Disneyesque tale of wonder and joy, with endless fun all day and fireworks every night. But then life happened.

If we examine the stories we tell as adults, we almost always find that they’re variations on ancient themes that have been represented throughout the ages in fables and fairy tales. As we grew up, we unknowingly became trapped in one of three archetypal stories, all of which promised us joy but ended up delivering misery.

The three fairy tales that become core scripts for our bad dreams are:

1. The story of King Midas, which turns into the nightmare titled “I Don’t Have Enough.”

2. The story of the Lion King, which turns into the nightmare titled “I’m Too Old and My Time Has Passed.”

3. The story of Cinderella, which turns into the nightmare titled “I’m Too Wounded to Have Power.”

Once we recognize that we’re living according to one of these archetypal scripts, we can consciously choose to rip it up and start over with a new story. But first we have to be honest about just how much we’re conforming to a fairy-tale fantasy about what will make us feel happy and fulfilled.

~ Words: Alberto Villoldo, Ph.D; Courageous Dreaming – How Shamans Dream the World into Being

"Here is the stuff of which fairy-tales are made; the Prince and Princess on their wedding day", 1981

So said the Archibishop of Canterbury — with all the 600 years of Chaucer’s anglophone word-coining power behind him — to start his homily at the wedding of Lady Diana Spencer and Prince Charles. ……. Kate Middleton, like Diana, now has what Umberto Eco called the aura of burnt flesh — referring to martyred saints — about her, sporting Diana’s own sapphire of death by paparazzi, along with all the other rivetting attributes of being struck by lightening, chosen by God and Prince William, and being Captain of the Girls’ Team. Diana was, and Kate is now. [Read more]

~ Words: Purejuice.dreamwidth.org

What’s Your Story?

I wasn’t aware of the Power of the Fairy-Tale until I read Women Who Run With the Wolves in 1992/1993. There I learned about fairy-tales that were entirely new to me;  as they were to most of us who had childhoods parked in front of the TV, anxious to get home from the Sunday Drive in time to watch the opening credits of The Wonderful World of Disney.,….. with the castle and the fireworks.

There are more than three core scripts. There has to be when you consider all the stories we have soaked up, via all the storytelling mediums that are available to us.  And there are way more interesting scripts than the three that Villoldo has nominated ~ they’re too easy, and they are the most prevalent because they are effortless. No-brainers.

I mean, if you are going to have a Nightmare Script running, make it a good one. One that forces you to work, to break into a sweat, and to give you such a seismic scare, that your Higher Self  just pops right out, slaps you upside the head, grouching:

Read THIS One!!

I had to really think about the fairy-tale that I liked the most as a child, the one whose script has been covertly running behind the other operating programs.  There are the usual suspects: Snow White, Cinderella, Rapunzel, Rumpelstiltskin – and the latter would fill me with a sense of outrage, that the dwarf had been stiffed. An early indication of the Devil’s Advocate archetype having a front-row seat in my consciousness. I had to grow up some before I recognised The Miller…..and that’s another story. 

As an aside: Just as the Greek myths are full of clumsy gits who trip over arrows, get wounded and die, I have noticed that children’s fairy-tales seem to be abundant with deadshit dads.  Were these Wicked Stepmothers really wicked or just POQed with the mythology that says the good guys are always taken, so they believed a Widower was a good guy back on the market? 

I mean, I never bought it that Cinderella’s old man didn’t know how she was being treated…………so what is this fairy-tale really about? The Power of Denial?  Never leave home without it.  Or does it covertly show the shadow archetype of the Ambivalent Care-taker…..

However, it is the Grimm story of The Gallant Tailor who killed seven with one blow, that has been  hissing the lines from off-stage; rich with totemic symbology and the parallel with the seven chakras is just too delicious not to Estésfy.

It is also a very intriguing medicine story for a little girl who grew up to develop an Anxiety Disorder, the seeds of which had already been planted……and that reminds me of Jack and the Beanstalk,  an analysis of which can be read here.

I’ve never particularly cared for Jack, yet there have been plenty of times in my life when I have made a poor trade – losing my cow for beans.  A regular conflict in my childhood, was the Broad Bean War: I hated them, dad insisted I clean my plate, and mum deliberately gave them to me, because she liked using me as the pawn to aggravate her husband.   The sadomasochistic script that my parents played out, with me in the middle, was not the stuff of fairy-tales and, sadly, this sort of emotional abuse is all too common-place.  It’s a Virgo-Pisces thing for the evolutionary astrologically inclined..

So with that early background, you betcha I was going to hop away with the first Frog-Prince that turned up; from one swamp into another….and another….and another.  And nobody buys the cow if they’re getting the milk for free ~ and that cuts both ways.  I didn’t want to really marry them either but the test drove me into a brightier and shinier relationship ~ with myself.   I made my own  happy ending! 

The High Priestess

High Priestess imaged sourced from celticradio

About Shakaya

They were a two-piece girl group from Australia, that consisted of Simone Stacey and Naomi Wenitong, two Cairns, North Queensland based songwriters and performers. The two met at the Atsic Music College in 1999 while studying an Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander music course and they had both been writing individually before they met each other

