Pisces-Cetus: a superclusterf**k?

April 15, 2011

Constellation Cetus: The Whale

Artist: Tania Nault

Cetus or the Whale is a constellation that lies in the region of the sky called the Water, which is home to many other water-related constellations such as Pisces, Eridanus and Aquarius. Even though Cetus is not considered one of the zodiac constellations, the ecliptic passes very close to its border and some of the planets and asteroids can occasionally be seen in it.

The constellation Cetus represents the sea monster from the Greek myth of Andromeda, the Ethiopian princess sacrificed to a monster to appease the gods, who were angered by her mother Cassiopeia’s vanity. Before Cetus was able to swallow Andromeda, she was rescued by Perseus, whom she later married. The constellation Cetus was first charted by the Greek astronomer Ptolemy in the 2nd century.

Cetus occupies an area of 1231 square degrees and contains nine stars with known planets. It can be seen at latitudes between +70° and -90° and is best visible at 9 p.m. during the month of November.

Further Reading:

Menkar “ ~ Al-Minkhar Al- Qaytaas” meaning “The Nostril of the Sea Monster”, star for disaster management.

%d bloggers like this: