h1

Keep Manhattan…just give me that other side

May 2, 2011
Failure will give you the feedback you need to understand what not to do next time. See every failure as another stepping stone on the path to wisdom.

The Druid Prayer

Grant Oh Spirit Thy Protection
And In protection, Strength
And in Strength, Understanding
And in Understanding, Knowledge
And in Knowledge, the Knowledge of Justice
And in the Knowledge of Justice, The Love of it
And In the Love of it, the love of all existences
And in the love of all existences
The Love of Spirit and all Goodness

A Quaker’s Vision Quest 

Even in the bright midday sun the gully was dark, almost forbidding.  Crowned by stunted oak trees, the rock walls were damp and full of moss and lichen. The floor was littered with dry leaves, cowpats, fresh hoof marks and splintered fragments of flinty rock. It was the last place on earth I would have chosen for a vision quest, but when spirit directs you, you don’t have much say in the matter.  I eased the rucksack off my shoulders, set up my tarp, unrolled my sleeping bag and wedged my precious container of water between some rocks.  Just what had I let myself in for?  “Welcome to the vision questing place from hell!” my instructor, David Wendl-Berry, laughed as he peered down into the gloomy gully.  “There are four things that can happen to you now.  You can go mad, you can disappear, you can die or you can return” For four days and four nights I was going to fast alone on that mountain.  There was no going back. [Read more at GreenQuakers  is the place to be, farm livin’ is the life for me……sorry]

One comment

  1. Now I’m going to have the Green Acres theme song in my head all day. Thanks for that. *shakes fist*



Comments are closed.

