h1

A Conversation with Orcus

May 14, 2011

Burt Lancaster as J.J. (Orcus)

Sidney: …if I’m gonna go out on a limb for you, you gotta know what’s involved.

Hunsecker: My right hand hasn’t seen my left hand in thirty years.

[Matthew 6:3, paraphrased: ‘But when you do a charitable deed, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, that your charitable deed may be in secret; and your Father who sees in secret will Himself reward you openly.’]

Sidney: I’ll do it, J.J., don’t get me wrong – in for a penny, in for a pound. I’ll go through with it. But stop beating me on the head. Let me make a living!

Hunsecker: Sidney, what you promised – do it! Don’t finagle around. It’s later than you think.

Sidney: Excuse me, J.J., it’s later than you think. That boy proposed to her.

(Hunsecker stops walking, pauses in the dark shadows, and ponders the weighty matter.)

Hunsecker: Susie told you that?

Sidney: Uh, huh.Hunsecker: What was her answer?

Sidney: She’ll discuss it with you at breakfast.

Hunsecker: That means you’ve got a plan. Can you deliver?

Sidney: Tonight, before you go to bed. The cat’s in the bag and the bag’s in the river.

Hunsecker: Don’t be a two-time loser, Sidney. The penalty could be severe.

Dialogue from: Sweet Smell of Success (1957

