h1

Starkle starkle, little twink

June 21, 2011

Image Sourced: Whassup in the Milky Way?

Fixed star Alphecca is the brightest star in the constellation of Corona Borealis. The legend goes that Corona Borealis represents the garland given by Venus to Ariadne on the occasion of her marriage to Bacchus after she had been forsaken by Theseus.

 Which is very sweet if you are familiar with the mythology of Ariadne-Theseus….you know the Labyrinth full of minotaur poop……the red thread….and Theseus pretty much saying  “Later, babe!” to Ariadne after she helped save his ungrateful arseThen she marries a drunkard…..

Starkle, starkle, little twink,
Who the hell are you I think.
I’m not under what you call
The alcofluence of incohol.
I’m just a little slort of sheep,
I’m not drunk like thinkle peep.
I don’t know who is me yet,
But the drunker I stand here the longer I get.
So just give me one more fink to drill my cup,
‘Cause I got all day sober to Sunday up.

~ sung by Charlie Drake

Crown found in the antechamber of King Philip II of Macedon

The Grecian crown has been depicted as both a traditional, jeweled crown and a wreath of flowers, but other cultures saw the curved star pattern quite differently. The aborigines of Australia called it the “Boomerang,” and the early Arabs called it the “Beggar’s Bowl.”

Alphecca (ahl-FECK-uh) is Arabic for “broken one”, a reference to the semicircle of stars.

Click here for a Virtual Visit of Royal Tombs of Vergina

 

One comment

  1. Yes, I’ve always regarded Ariadne’s story as a cautionary tale.



Comments are closed.

