h1

Aries 12: A flock of white geese

September 7, 2011

'Stay out of tomorrow. God hasn't created it yet.' ~ Mychal

Image source: Bodhi Tree Swaying

By Daniel Burke
Religion News Service

(RNS) When All Saints Church sought to signal its hospitality to gays and lesbians, the Catholic parish in Syracuse, N.Y., turned to a well-known image from the 9/11 attacks: five firefighters carrying a body from the wreckage of the World Trade Center.

The body belonged to the Rev. Mychal Judge, a Franciscan fire chaplain who rushed to the burning buildings and was killed by falling debris. [read full article at Huffington Post]

Fire Chaplain

Mychal’s Prayer:
Lord, take me where You want me to go,
let me meet who You want me to meet,
tell me what You want me to say,
and keep me out of Your way
 

The Wild Geese Today ~A Tribute to Father Mychal Judge

The Huffington Post ~ 9/11: An Urban Shaman’s response

One comment

  1. Yes, he has been much on my mind this anniversary week. His story touched me deeply after 9/11. Many news reports, however, conveniently forget to mention that he was openly gay (although presumably celibate) within the Catholic church.



Comments are closed.

