h1

Giddy Up Oom Poppa Omm Poppa Mow Mow

September 17, 2011

Happy birthday..............and unpleasant dreams!

Cassandra Peterson (born September 17, 1951) is an American actress best known for her on-screen horror hostess character Elvira, Mistress of the Dark.  With heavily-applied pancake horror make-up and a towering black beehive wig concealing her flame-red hair, the transformation from Cassandra Peterson to the sexy “Elvira” was so drastic that no one ever recognized her out of costume.  Elvira reclined on a red Victorian couch, introducing and often interrupting the movie to lampoon the actors, the script, and the bad editing. Adopting the flippant tone of a California valley-girl, she brought a satirical, sarcastic edge to her commentary without ever being crass or mean-spirited. Like a macabre Mae West, she reveled in dropping risqué double entendres as well as making frequent jokes about her eye-popping display of cleavage.

In an AOL Entertainment News interview, Peterson revealed, “I figured out that Elvira is me when I was a teenager. She’s a spastic girl. I just say what I feel and people seem to enjoy it.”

Her name is Cherry
We’ve just met
But already she knows me
Better than you
She understands me
After eighteen years
And you still don’t see me
Like you ought to do
~ lyrics Amy Winehouse

 

 

Image sourced from Joyce’s Take ~ from the heart of Downtown LA, 5 posts a week on political & social commentary and satire.

